Emens-Butler Heads Slate of Candidates for VBA Board

At its meeting on Monday, December 16, the VBA Nominations Committee, chaired by past president Amber Barber, produced a slate of nominees for VBA Board positions. Elections will be held at the VBA Mid-Year Meeting, March 21, 2014, at the Hilton Hotel in Burlington.

Jennifer Emens-Butler was nominated to be president-elect, replacing Dan Richardson, who will step up to the presidency at the Annual Meeting in September. Dave Fenster, the current president, will become immediate past president at that time.

Matt Valerio and Ted Tyler were nominated to continue as treasurer and secretary respectively. They will run unopposed.

Andy Mikell, currently filling out a two-year term after being elected last year to fill Dan Richardson's seat when the latter rose to president-elect, will run unopposed for a two-year seat.

In contested elections, Thomas Valente (Rutland) will run against Deborah Bucknam (St. Johnsbury) for a two-year seat on the Board, and current Board member Gary Franklin (Burlington) will run against Jessica Burke (Winooski) for a two-year term.

More information on the candidates will be available in future BarNews stories and on the VBA Facebook page.