Online VBA Elections on June 12

Notice of Special Online Meeting to Elect Three VBA Board Members and One VBA Delegate to the ABA House of Delegates

The VBA Mid-Year Meeting was originally scheduled for March 26-27, 2020 and was re-scheduled to June 11-12, 2020 in light of the COVID-19 crisis. Due to ongoing restrictions for in-person gatherings, the in-person June 11-12 Mid-Year Meeting has been cancelled and the CLE programs are being offered as webinars throughout the month of June. Please click HERE for the current webinar schedule. VBA Board elections and the election of the VBA’s delegate to the American Bar Association House of Delegates are normally held during the Mid-Year Meeting Business Luncheon Meeting. In light of this year’s unique circumstances, the VBA Board elections and the election of the VBA delegate to the ABA House of Delegates will be held virtually at 1:15 p.m. on Friday, June 12.

All voting members who registered for the full Mid-Year Meeting will be automatically sent an invitation to the video conference meeting on June 10, 2020.  Any voting member wishing to register solely for the virtual Business Meeting can click HERE to register for free. An invitation will then be emailed to you on June 10, 2020.  Voting members of the VBA who accept the invitation and log on to the virtual meeting at 1:15 p.m. on Friday, June 12 will have an opportunity to cast an anonymous vote via polling feature following brief video presentations by the nominees. The slate of nominees is below. (Kelsey Bain was originally nominated for a seat but has since withdrawn from the election, with regrets. James Rodgers will be running for an uncontested seat as a result). Please click HERE for the nominees’ written statements in the meantime.

Votes will be tallied and those elected will be announced following the online meeting. Please contact with “Board Elections” in the subject line if you have any questions about this process, and we look forward to the online Business Meeting on Friday, June 12 at 1:15 p.m. for the purpose of the VBA Board and the ABA delegate elections.


The Nominating Committee met on December 13, 2019 and approved the following candidates (Kelsey Bain has withdrawn with regrets since then):

President: Elizabeth Kruska
President-Elect: Robert Fletcher
Treasurer: Matthew F. Valerio
Secretary: Edward J. Tyler, III

Contested seats: 
Association ABA Delegate: Fritz Langrock (Addison) v. Eleanor Spottswood (Washington)

Alexandrea Nelson (Chittenden) v. Alfonso Villegas (Washington)

Uncontested seat(s):
Katelyn Atwood (Rutland) 

James Rodgers (Windham)